Mystery Wool… Kool Aid Dyed

Finally beginning to feel more like myself after surgery on the 2nd.  Yippee!   Had some mystery wool lying in my closet that I finally got out my spinning wheel and made short work of…  but then had surgery so the yarn has been just sitting there looking at me for 2 weeks making me wonder what in the world I’m going to do with it.. sigh

Yesterday I went thru my kool aid stash and found that the most prolific was ice blue… ughh  I have enough ice blue to knit a coat.. 😦   So I decided to use 1 yellow and 3 orange to see what came out of that.  Well… it seems that this wool was REALLY ready for the dye.  As I poured it in the color just slurped up into that wool and the water was immediately clear and guess what… I now have a very variegated yarn..lol

MysteryWoolOrange

I’ve thought about dyeing it again using another yellow to even out the color, but I’m not sure I want to do that.  I think it would make a lovely woven scarf on my Kromski rigid heddle loom.. hmmm

Beautiful day today.  I know I should have had these daffodil and tulip bulbs in the ground way before now… but    Perhaps they will make today.  If not .. I have been promised tomorrow at the latest.  🙂

Have a lovely day..

 

About Linda S.

Retired Grandma living in North Central Texas and enjoying being able to spend my time with all my many crafting interests.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Fiber Preparation, Handcraft, handmade, Handwork, Historical Textile, hobby, Spinning, Weaving and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mystery Wool… Kool Aid Dyed

  1. Teri of NC (fiberdrunk) says:

    How fun! Looks like turmeric! How colorfast are these Kool-aid dyes? Do you know if they fade with washing?

  2. freethnkr1965 says:

    I like the variegated look.

  3. Linda S. says:

    Teri.. I’ve used kool aid for years and have never had anything fade. I’ve also used an acid dye (black and red) and they both continued to fade every time I washed them. I must have done something wrong.. 😦 I love kool aid because it is non toxic, but it takes a LOT of it if you want a deep rich color.

  4. Tom Hayes says:

    Linda,

    Happy New Year! I just found your blog. It is very interesting and entertaining. I wanted to let you know that my wife, Ginger, and I have opened a yarn shop in the Old Town in McKinney. I actually found you from an old review of the shop that used to be here called Yarn Again. We are upstairs in the Doozie’s Corner boutique. Stop by and see us!

    Tom and Ginger

  5. Linda S. says:

    Hi Tom and Ginger… I most certainly will stop by! Very happy to hear from you.

Leave a comment