Make Your Own Thimble… again and Split Rail Quilt Wins

I’m in the process of making the quilt for our bed… but in the evening I’m doing a little hand quilting on a small one that I started ages back.  Hand quilting without a thimble is a bit disconcerting to say the least.   And I cannot for the life of me find my hand-made leather thimble.. 😦  So I am posting a link back to the one I made using a chamois back in 2009.  Today I will be making another one.

Second Chamois Thimble.. free pattern

2chamoisthimble

I finally decided I would do the Split Rail Fence quilt since this will be the first king size quilt I’ve made.  I love the way it looks!   I laid it out on the bed yesterday and was really surprised that I will love it. The blocks are 13″ block and will give ample room for specialty quilting.

SplitRailQuilt1It’s coming along nicely and I already have almost all the blocks I need.   If you would like to make one with me or follow along with the steps,  just drop me a note or leave a comment and I will be a little more specific about the steps.. 🙂

It’s much cooler this week here in North Texas.  A couple of days ago it was in the upper 40s when I got up at 5am.  Little cool standing out there in my house coat waiting for Sam to make up his mind where to do his business..lol

Have a wonderful day and make something today… even if it’s just making a little noise with a song.. 🙂

About Linda S.

Retired Grandma living in North Central Texas and enjoying being able to spend my time with all my many crafting interests.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Free Patterns, Handcraft, Handwork, Leather, Needlework, Quilt, Sewing, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Make Your Own Thimble… again and Split Rail Quilt Wins

  1. freethnkr1965 says:

    Looking forward to pics.

Leave a comment