Make Your Own Yarn Swift…

Back in the previous incarnation of Fabric Follies Two … called Fabric Follies .. I posted a link to Crafty Diversions .  At the time I was just learning to spin and was so fascinated with her free tutorial for making a yarn swift that I went out in the shop (that we no longer have… ;o(  …. and made one.

This was so easy to make.  The only thing I did wrong was … I didn’t measure the circular distance between peg holes and as a result did not come out exactly 2 yards between pegs.  But I was only off   1 inch so it’s not difficult to figure the length of the yarn.

My SDH decided it would be easier to use if we put it on a stand… so we did.  I love it and it works great…

So if you have a little space in your garage or back porch.. or where ever..  give this a try.  It cost about $20.00 to make (including the stand… mine is solid oak*).

Have a wonderful day.. ;o)

* I would suggest using a light weight wood.  Mine is solid oak and the pull on the yarn is pretty hard unless you go easy.  I love mine, but someone unfamiliar with it may put too much strain on the yarn.

About Linda S.

Retired Grandma living in North Central Texas and enjoying being able to spend my time with all my many crafting interests.
This entry was posted in Backyard Projects, Crafts, Fiber Preparation, Free Patterns, Handcraft, Handwork, Historical Textile, Spinning, Textile Tutorials, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Make Your Own Yarn Swift…

  1. Judy says:

    Another great idea…I only wish I had a spinning wheel. My aunt recently told me my cousins threw my grandmother’s spinning wheel in a deep burn hole when she passed away. I shuddered.

  2. Pat says:

    That is seriously cool!

  3. Linda S. says:

    Oh Judy! A deep burn hole! I’m so sorry.. you would have been a great spinner! I love, love, love the crazy quilting embroidery you’ve been doing. It’s so beautiful…

  4. Linda S. says:

    Thanks, Pat. You get a big hug next time I see you… ;o)

  5. Shelley says:

    The link no longer works…is there another way to get to the instructions to make this yarn swift? Thanks!

Leave a comment