Apple Leef Farm… Second Saturday Spin-In Day! (free patterns)

This time last Saturday I was on my way to Van Alstyne, TX with my friend Pat.  It was my first time to attend a spin-in and the first time to Apple Leef FarmWhat a lovely day!  I had no idea there was such a well stocked spinning shop anywhere in the vicinity.  Leef hosts a spin-in the second Saturday of every month.  There were 4 spinners and Leef already spinning when we got there and the number grew as the time went on.  (That’s my friend Pat over in the  left center of the picture in the salmon shirt.  Thanks again, Pat.  I loved this.)

We had a spinning good time for a couple of hours or so…everyone had something to talk about… and  talk we did..lol  It was so much fun watching everyone with their different wheels and the different ways they had of spinning.  One young lady was a new spinner and walked around asking questions.  Everyone was friendly and encouraging, helping in any way they could. 

Around 1pm or so everyone adjourned outside to the picnic tables…to the never ending joy of the canine buddies.  Leef has one such buddy that looks exactly like the dog my grandfather had that could ride a bicycle and pull the wood sled….and is even named “Sandy”.

I still think food eaten outside tastes better than any other food.   Leef is the lovely lady  in the green t-shirt with the lovely shoulder length white hair.

I was truly excited to see that she has many colors and kinds of dye stuffs.  While I love my kool aid, sometimes I would like to have a more intense color or an in between color that I find it hard to mix with the colors of kool aid.  I bought 3 colors of the Jacquard dyes to see if I can come up with a graduated blend for a scarf or shawl that I plan to do later this year.

See that ball winder there on the edge of the table in the pic to the left … I have it earmarked in my brain for my next purchase..lol  But this time I found some absolutely gorgeous, silky, I want to lay and squirm around in it  60% Merino 20% Cashmere 20% Angora roving that I could not leave alone.  I bought 8 oz. of it.   (Having a fit here trying to get everything spun up that is on my wheels so I can get to it..lol )

She also has a tahkli that I really, really want.  It would be wonderful to be able to sit back in a chair and spin with a supported spindle.  There was something about spinning that tahkli… it was mesmerizing.

Amazingly, I actually got a lot of spinning done while having such a good time.   This is definitely a good time that I will repeat every 2nd Saturday that I can.. ;o)

P.S.  Leef has really nice free patterns  and tips/info on her site.   Have a look… ;o)

About Linda S.

Retired Grandma living in North Central Texas and enjoying being able to spend my time with all my many crafting interests.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Felting, Fiber Preparation, Free Patterns, Handcraft, Handwork, Historical Textile, Knit, Spindling, Spinning, Weaving and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Apple Leef Farm… Second Saturday Spin-In Day! (free patterns)

  1. Pat Blankenship says:

    Love the article! Great photos….I was far enough away not to mind having my picture taken! LOL I really enjoyed our day out and look forward to doing it again next month.

    Pat

Leave a comment