Kantha Embroidery

Kantha embroidery was highlighted on Sharon Boggon’s blog, now called Pin Tangle,  a couple of years ago along with a discussion on the autobiographical elements and symbols in embroidery.   At the time I did a little online research and found myself a bit amazed at what beauty can be made from this simple running stitch embroidery.   I had no idea the simple running stitch could be sewn to form many intricate designs…

The Kantha – Stitches page of Sasha has many more photos and stitch patterns… all of them lovely.  This is where the inspiration jumped up and put a spell on me for my embroidery of the little clothesline on my tea towel.

Sasha is a non-profit marketing page for craftspeople all over India, but there is also a considerable amount of information about these crafts.

Have a look… and have a good day. ;o)

About Linda S.

Retired Grandma living in North Central Texas and enjoying being able to spend my time with all my many crafting interests.
This entry was posted in Art, ATC, Beading, Crafts, Embroidery, Handcraft, Handwork, Historical Textile, Needlework, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment